Our Team


Nicky Agate is Editor-in-Chief of The Idealis and Assistant Director, Scholarly Communication and Projects at Columbia University Libraries. She’s interested in open-access publishing models, rethinking the values we reward and promote in higher ed, and she works to expand the definition and recognition of “scholarship” beyond the article and monograph. She serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Librarianship & Scholarly Communication, is a PI on the HuMetricsHSS initaitive, and has just started a term as a member of the Library Publishing Coalition research committee. Previously, she was head of digital initiatives at the Modern Language Association, where she was in charge of Humanities Commons, MLA Commons, and COREShe tweets @terrainsvagues.

Contact: email: nicky@theidealis.org | twitter: @terrainsvagues

Gesina Phillips is a Technical Advisor to The Idealis, advising on developments in open access, publishing technology, and more.

Contributing Editors

Chealsye Bowley, Ubiquity Press and Open Access Button
Josh Bolick, University of Kansas
Timothy Bowman, Wayne State University
Jessica Brangiel, Swarthmore College
Dylan Burns, Utah State University
Gail P. Clement, California Institute of Technology
Lauren Collister, University of Pittsburgh
Lily Troia, Altmetric
Kyle Courtney, Harvard University
Kathleen DeLaurenti, William & Mary
Nickoal Eichmann-Kalwara, University of Colorado, Boulder
Kyra Folk-Farber, UC Santa Barbara
Lisa Gonzalez, Private Academic Library Network of Indiana
April Hathcock, New York University
Claudia Holland, George Mason University
Annie Johnson, Temple University
Rebecca Kennison, Open Access Network/K|N Consulting
Stacy Konkiel, Altmetric
Lucy Lambe, The London School of Economics and Political Science
Paolo Mangiafico, Duke University
Gesina Phillips, Duquesne University
Lillian Rigling, Western University Libraries
Simone Sacchi, LIBER
Vicky Steeves, New York University
Andy Tattersall, University of Sheffield
Micah Vandegrift, Florida State University
Megan Wacha, City University of New York
Michaela Willi-Hooper, Oregon State University